State Journalism Honors


Mav Media attended the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association convention in Jonesboro, April 21-22.

The following students brought home top honors:
Ellie Bunnell-Yearbook Designer of the Year
Trista Truong-Newspaper Designer of the Year
Carsyn Lincks-Yearbook Writer of the Year
Boushra Raache-Photojournalist of the Year (SHS swept this category!)
Newspaper and Online News led by editor Trista Truong won the All-Arkansas.
Ellie Bunnell was named All-State Journalist.
Mailey Woolf and Gabby Woodie brought home Best of ASPA honors for editorial cartooning and sports photography respectively.
In the On-site competition, freshmen Cooper Oxford and Kate Bunnell won first place awards for advertising design and student life design. Ellie Bunnell placed second in theme development.
In individual competitions Mav Media team members received: 22 Superiors, 16 Excellents, and
12 honorable mentions.